Today is a mild, muggy and midgy one. I wore my midge jacket to go on a wellywander. I use wellywanders to assess what needs doing as well as just to look. It’s raining quite heavily as I write this but if the weather clears as forecast this afternoon perhaps I’ll get a garden job done.

Clockwise from top left above: leaves of whorled caraway holding water droplets, white bell flower that appeared of its own volition, sage, white foxglove, lady’s mantle leaf holding droplets, the first rosebuds, toad rush also holding water droplets.

Libertia grandiflora is flowering now. This is another plant the just appeared from nowhere. I might bring in a stem or two. Apparently they are good cut flowers.

Herb Bennet (Geum urbanum) has begun to flower, and the drive is covered in green ‘worms’, flower stalks from our neighbour’s sycamore tree.

